Chadron State College
Chadron State College

Awards & Recognitions

Awards won by The Eagle staff

2009 Golden Leaf Awards

First Place
  • Daniel Binkard, Sports Photo
  • Carmen Brown, Ad Design
  • Jennifer Cleveland, Hard News/Spot News
  • Savanna N. Wick, Cartoon
Second Place
  • Jennifer Cleveland, Feature Story, News Photo
  • The Eagle Staff, Best Overall
Third Place
  • Savanna N. Wick, News Photo (Fire guts CSC couple's home)

2007 Golden Leaf Awards

Awards given for small newspapers

First Place
  • The Eagle Staff, Special Section/Issue (A Season To Remember)
    Judge's comments: "This section was a colorful, in-depth look at the football team's exploits, with well-framed and shot photography throughout the section. The pictures, captions and text worked well together to give a hard-hitting reliving of a special moment in time on the gridiron."
Second Place
  • Daniel Binkard, Two-Page Spread Layout Design (Spotted Tail fire leaves C-Hill blackened)
Third Place
  • Daniel Binkard, News Photo (Dean’s green becomes battleground during ROTC)
  • John “Buddha” Delle, Photo Essay (Arbor Day an original Nebraska holiday)
  • Lauren Smith, Feature Story (In facing death, Dr. Randall Austin anticipates life)

2006 Golden Leaf Awards

Awards given in Class S (enrollment under 5,000)

First Place
  • Aaron Beyer, Cartoon
  • Daniel Binkard, Sports Photograph (Rodeo team wrestles out one first place)
Second Place
  • Heather Beebout, News Photograph
  • Sierra Lamb, Feature Story
  • The Eagle staff, Editorial
Third Place
  • Sally Roberts, Advertisement Design

2005 Golden Leaf Awards

First Place
  • Daniel Binkard, News Photograph (BMX stunt rider), Photo Essay (Take a step into the fourth dimension) and Sports Photograph (Eagles break records)
  • Billie O'Bryan, Advertisement (Halloween Bash)
  • Heather Beebout and Alex Helmbrecht, Review (Crazy, not so crazy about Second City)
Second Place
  • Heather Beebout, News Photograph (Powwow)
  • Laura Phagan, Special Section/Issue (Experience the Wild Wild West)
  • Amber Vrana, Investigative/In-Depth Story (Community worried…)
  • (Tie) Lillian Witt, Kathy Rapp and Heather Beebout, Two-Page Spread Layout Design (Spring Daze 2004)
Third Place
  • Aaron Beyer, Cartoon/Editorial Cartoon (10/28/04)
  • Elizabeth Thies, Advertisement (133,938,880 died…)
  • Jodi Banzhaf and Alex Helmbrecht, Review (The Incredibles)
Honorable Mention
  • Overall Excellence - Newspaper
  • Heather Beebout, News Photograph (Freedom Walk)
  • Eric J. Lubbers, Headline Writing (I'm [sic] of my generation's bad grammar)
  • Laura Phagan, Sports Photograph (Rugby men and women)

2005 Nebraska Press Association Best of 2005 — College Journalism

Second Place
  • General Excellence
Third Place
  • Laura Phagan, Best Sports Photo (Rugby)
  • Heather Beebout and Eric J. Lubbers, Best News Series (Priority groups to be vaccinated; Nurse shoots down flu shot rumors)
  • Billie O'Bryan, The Sinister Grin, Third Place, Single Advertising Idea

2004 Golden Leaf Awards

First Place
  • Travis Faber, Ad Design
Second Place
  • Crystalrae Gibson, News Photograph
  • Mari Olson, Sports Photograph
  • Amber Vrana, Editorial
Third Place
  • Travis Faber, Cartoon
  • Alex Helmbrecht, Sports Photograph
  • Amber Vrana, Hard News and Feature Story

2004 Nebraska Press Association

Third Place
  • General Excellence

2001 Nebraska Press Association

First Place
  • Farrah Eleson, News Series (Solid Waste Controversy)
Third Place
  • Jason Ferguson, Editorial (The Skinny on Becoming Trim)

2000 Nebraska Press Association

First Place
  • Anna Henkens, Best Spot News Writing (Battle With Alcohol Worsens Cultural Ties)
Second Place
  • Lisa Grubbs, Best News Series (Chadron State Could Become Part....)
  • Shelli Smith-Stewart and Kristi Mehlhoff, Best Feature Story (Auschwitz: Survivor Tells Story)
Third Place
  • The Eagle staff, Best Editorial (Non Traditionals Growing in College Experience)
  • Sweepstakes Awards/College