Apply to CSC

Presidential Inauguration

Print Page

Presidential Timeline



Randy Rhine

Randy Rhine

NSCS Board of Trustees officially names Dr. Randy Rhine as the 11th president of Chadron State College at its Jan. 15, 2013 board meeting.


Nebraska State College System Chancellor Stan Carpenter announced Nov. 29, that the NSCS Board of Trustees will name Randy Rhine as the 11th president of Chadron State College

Dr. Randy Rhine, CSC vice president for enrollment management and student services, becomes the interim president May 11th.

Dr. Janie Park announces her retirement on April 10th



Janie Park

Janie Park

Dr. Janie Park was appointed to be the new president. She had previously been the dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Montana State-Billings.


Dr. Tom Krepel announced his resignation as president.



Tom Krepel

Tom Krepel

Dr. Thomas Krepel became the college’s ninth president after the trustees made his interim position permanent.


Dr. Tom Krepel, senior vice president of academic affairs, became interim president July 1, when Dr. Sam Rankin left office.


Lindeken Clock Tower

Dr. Sam Rankin and William Lindeken stand at the Lindeken Clock Tower, located in the heart of the CSC campus.

President Sam Rankin announced he would step down from office to teach history at CSC.



Sam Rankin

Sam Rankin

Dr. Sam Rankin was inaugurated in April as the eighth president of the college.


In February, Dr. Edwin C. Nelson resigned as president of Chadron State Sept. 1.



Larry Tangeman

Larry Tangeman

Dr. Edwin Nelson was asked to temporarily become executive secretary of the Board of Trustees and Dr. Larry Tangeman became the Chadron State president. The arrangement was to last 20 months, or until July 1, 1975.



Edwin Nelson

Edwin Nelson

Dr. F. Clark Elkins resigned as president and Dr. Edwin C. Nelson was promoted from dean to president. Dr. Larry A. Tangeman became dean of the college.


The name of the college officially became Chadron State College.

Clark Elkins

Clark Elkins

Dr. Barton Kline resigned as president and Dr. Glenn Hildreth resigned as dean. They were replaced by Dr. F. Clark Elkins and Dr. Edwin C. Nelson, respectively.



Barton Kline

Barton Kline

Dr. Barton L. Kline was appointed president.

Dr. Wiley Brooks resigned as president, effective July 1, 1954.



Wiley Brooks

Wiley Brooks

Dr. Wiley G. Brooks became president in May.


Robert Elliott resigned as president for health reasons in March, and was replaced by professor Edwin Rouse, who served as acting president for 14 months.



Robert Elliott

Robert Elliott

Joseph Sparks resigned as president of Chadron Normal in April. At the same meeting, Robert I. Elliott was selected as the new president.


Joseph Sparks

Joseph Sparks

Members of the Nebraska Board of Education returned to Chadron on June 15 to select the site of the new building and to drive the stake marking the location for what became the Administration Building. That same day, Joseph Sparks was selected as the school’s president.


A bill introduced by State Rep. Charles H. Chase of Crawford calling for the establishment of a state normal school in what was then the Sixth Congressional District passed in the Nebraska Legislature in April.

Copyright © Chadron State College. All Rights Reserved.
Member, Nebraska State College SystemEmployment OpportunitiesEqual Opportunity EmployerTitle IX Reporting/Resources
Accreditation InformationWebsite Feedback
1000 Main Street, Chadron, NE 69337 • 1-800-CHADRON